percy jackson and the olympians…

My children were thrilled when we discovered Rick Riordan’s series about Percy Jackson, in which he successfully blends modern day life with Greek mythology.. They waited impatiently for each new book to come out.  I had fun reading the series with my children and brushing up on my Greek mythology at the same time. There are five books in the first series: 

  1. The Lightning Thief
  2. The Sea of Monsters
  3. The Titan’s Curse
  4. The Battle of the Labyrinth
  5. The Last Olympian

After completeing the series, my children began asking when the second set of the series would be released. I think they have just about given up, but I am excited to be able to tell them that the first book of the Camp Half-Blood series should be available in October.

For those of you who are a bit rusty on your Greek mythology (although Riordan has done a wonderful job of incorporating the myths into his books), I highly recommend D’Aulaires’ Book of Greek Myths. We had this book checked out from the library for a long time until we finally ordered our very own copy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: