Scourge (A Grim Doyle Adventure)

David Burton’s book, Scourge: A Grim Doyle Adventure (Volume 1), is the first in a series of steampunk fantasy books for young children. The book begins with Grim Doyle, his five adopted siblings (one of whom is his birth sister), their two fathers, and a cranky old nanny. The story is slow at first but quickly begins to accelerate when the family¬†finds itself back from the world they orginally fled from and which the children have no memory.

Thrust into a world they know nothing about and hiding in an orphanage while their fathers go off to lead the resistance, the siblings must discover their places in this new world, full of new races and gadgets which come to life. The book is only the beginning of the story and promises to answer more questions in future books.

I found Scourge to be a refreshing change to other chapter books for young children. It’s a nice compromise for children with well devloped vocabularies and reading comprehension who are working on their reading skills.

Disclaimer: A complimentary copy of the book was provided by the author.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: